📣  Breakout Rooms are coming to Microsoft Teams in mid-to-late November 2020! Here’s the scoop on how to use it, hot off the presses from Microsoft’s communication to admins…

  • Heads Up: You will need to be a meeting organizer to see the Breakout Room button.  It will be located next to the Raise Hand button (see image).

Features available for Organizer:

  • Breakout room setup on Teams desktop client
  • Create breakout rooms in scheduled private meetings (including recurring) and private meet now meetings
  • Meeting organizers can manage rooms and hop between rooms freely
  • Setup breakout rooms during an active meeting
  • Create up to 50 breakout rooms in a single meeting
  • Add, remove, delete breakout rooms
  • Rename rooms to the title of your choice
  • Reassign room participants from one room to another before as well as while the rooms are open
  • Room transition: as an organizer, you can decide if participants get moved to the room automatically when you open the room, or, if they need to click to confirm the move. The “auto-accept” setting is available per meeting.
  • Send an announcement that will show up as a meeting chat message in each room.
  • Chats, files, and recordings: only the organizer will always have access to all rooms meeting artifacts

Features available for the participants:

  • Join breakout rooms from web, desktop, iOS, iPads, Android mobiles and tablets. Note that organizers cannot move participants who joined via Desk phones or Teams devices join to a breakout room, they can stay in main meeting as their breakout room.
  • Participants join the room as presenters, so they can present, share Whiteboard, etc. freely.
  • Participants cannot add others to meeting chat, copy meeting details, nudge others to the meeting, or use “call me back”
  • Hoping between rooms: Meeting participants cannot hop back to main meeting or between rooms on their own. They must wait for the meeting organizer to pull them back to the main meeting.
  • Chat during the breakout session. Chat and artifacts shared during meeting are viewable for room participants.
  • Chats, files, and recordings: Participants have access to artifacts, but only organizer has access to the links – if link is shared by meeting organizer, then participants will have access
  • Multi-device join: breakout room is not supported when the participant joins the same meeting and same account from multiple devices

Where and when can I set up breakout rooms?

  • You can set up breakout rooms after you join the meeting as the organizer. You can bulk create rooms at the start, or manually add or remove rooms.
  • You can set up breakout rooms from desktop client, but not in mobile and web.
  • We plan to enable the ability for you to set up breakout rooms before the meeting very soon.

When can I assign participants to breakout room?

  • You can assign participant when you are setting up the rooms. You can do so manually before the rooms open or reassign participants to a different room while the room is open.
  • You can also auto-assign the participants to rooms when you first set up the rooms in the meeting.

Set up the new Teams meeting experience by:

  • Clicking on your profile image within Teams
  • Selecting Settings
  • Checking the “Turn on new meeting experience” option within – General settings
  • Restart your Teams client
  • Making sure all participants are using the latest version of Teams

Contact us to bring Virtual Work Insider’s Virtual Leadership Training Workshops to your company.  Our most popular workshops include: Influencing Across Distance, Successful Remote Reporting Relationships, Driving Culture in Distributed Teams, and Leading Effective Virtual Meetings & Remote Presentations.

Subscribe

Our battle-tested virtual leadership tips sent to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!